Mobile Version   |    Calendar   |    Support Your Library   |    F.A.Q.   |    Library Newsletter   |    Library Blogs   |    RSS Feeds   |    Email This Page
Spokane Public LibraryRead. Learn. Discover.
Quick Search


Advanced Search

HOW DO I...?


Print this page

Kids: Young Reader's Choice Award








The Young Reader's Choice Award was first presented by the children of the Pacific Northwest in 1940.  Between 1940 and 1990 one award was given each year.  In 1991 the award was divided into a Youth and a Senior division.  From 1991 through 2001 two awards were presented, one in each category.  With the 2002 list of nominees, the YRCA established three divisions: Junior, Intermediate, and Senior and three winners were selected. 

In addition to the previous winners, listed below, you might also like to see the list of nominees  for the 2014 Young Reader's Choice Award.


2013 Junior Lost Hero by Rick Riordan,

2013 Intermediate Smile by Raina Telgemeier

2013 Senior Crazy by Han Nolan

2012 Junior 11 Birthdays by Wendy Mass

2012 Intermediate Maze Runner by James Dashner

2012 Senior Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

2011 Junior Amulet: The Stonekeeper by Kazu Kibuishi

2011 Intermediate Rapunzel's Revenge by Shannon Hale

2011 Senior The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

2010 Junior  Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Greg Heffley's Journal by Jeff Kinney

2010 Intermediate Schooled by Gordon Korman

2010 Senior City of Bones by Cassandra Clare


2009 Junior The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

2009 Intermediate  The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

2009 Senior New Moon by Stephenie Meyer

2008 Junior  A Dog's Life: Autobiography of a Stray by Ann M. Martin

2008 Intermediate  The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

2008 Senior Peaches by Jodi Lynn Anderson

2007 Junior Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke
2007 Intermediate Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer
2007 Senior Hat Full of Sky by Terry Pratchett

2006 Junior The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
2006 Intermediate Eragon by Christopher Paolini
2006 Senior Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going

2005 Junior The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke
2005 Intermediate Son of the Mob by Gordon Korman
2005 Senior The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer

2004 Junior Skeleton Man by Joseph Bruchac
2004 Intermediate Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer
2004 Senior Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares

2003 Junior Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
2003 Intermediate No More Dead Dogs by Gordon Korman
2003 Senior Hope Was Here by Joan Bauer

2002 Junior Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
2002 Intermediate Mary, Bloody Mary by Carolyn Meyer
2002 Senior Rewind by William Sleator

2001 Youth Holes by Louis Sachar
2001 Senior The Boxes by William Sleator

2000 Youth A Mouse Called Wolf by Dick King-Smith
2000 Senior The Taking of Room 114 by Mel Glenn



1999 Youth Frindle by Andrew Clements
1999 Senior SOS Titanic by Eve Bunting

1998 Youth Wayside School Gets a Little Stranger by Louis Sachar
1998 Senior The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman

1997 Youth Nasty Stinky Sneakers by Eve Bunting
1997 Senior Driver's Ed by Caroline B. Cooney

1996 Youth The Boys Start the War by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1996 Senior The Giver by Lois Lowry

1995 Youth Terror at the Zoo by Peg Kehret
1995 Senior Who Killed My Daughter by Lois Duncan

1994 Youth Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1994 Senior Wolf by the Ears by Ann Rinaldi

1993 Youth Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli
1993 Senior The Face on the Milk Carton by Caroline B. Cooney

1992 Youth Danger in Quicksand Swamp by Bill Wallace
1992 Senior Eva by Peter Dickinson

1991 Youth Ten Kids, No Pets by Ann M. Martin
1991 Senior Sex Education by Jenny Davis

1990 There's a Boy in the Girl's Bathroom by Louis Sachar



1989 Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn

1988 Sixth Grade Can Really Kill You by Barthe DeClements

1987 The War With Grandpa by Robert Kimmel Smith

1986 The Dollhouse Murders by Betty Ren Wright

1985 Thirteen Ways to Sink a Sub by Jamie Gilson

1984 The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynn Reid Banks

1983 Superfudge by Judy Blume

1982 Bunnicula: A Rabbit Tale of Mystery by James Howe

1981 Hail, Hail, Camp Timberwood by Ellen Conford (not owned by SPL)

1980 Ramona and Her Father by Beverly Cleary



1979 Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor

1978 The Great Brain Does it Again by John Dennis Fitzgerald

1977 Blubber by Judy Blume

1976 The Great Brain Reforms by John Dennis Fitzgerald

1975 Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume

1974 Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O'Brien

1973 No Award Given

1972 Encyclopedia Brown Keeps the Peace by Donald Sobol

1971 Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary

1970 Smoke by Corbin (not owned by SPL)



1969 Henry Reed's Babysitting Service by Keith Robertson

1968 The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary

1967 Chitty-Chitty Bang Bang by Ian Fleming

1966 Rascal by Sterling North

1965 John F. Kennedy and PT-109 (not owned by SPL)

1964 The Incredible Journey by Sheila Every Burnford

1963 Danny Dunn on the Ocean Floor by Jay Williams (not owned by SPL)

1962 The Swamp Fox of the Revolution by Stewart Holbrook (not owned by SPL)

1961 Danny Dunn and the Homework Machine by Jay Williams

1960 Henry and the Paper Route by Beverly Cleary



1959 Old Yeller by Fred Gipson

1958 Golden Mare by Corbin (not owned by SPL)

1957 Henry and Ribsy by BeverlyCleary

1956 Miss Pickerell Goes to Mars by Ellen MacGregor (not owned by SPL)

1955, 1954, 1953 No Award Given

1952 Sea Star, Orphan of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry

1951 King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry

1950 McElligot'sPool by Dr. Seuss



1949 Cowboy Boots by Garst (not owned by SPL)

1948 The Black Stallion Returns by Walter Farley

1947 Homer Price by Robert McCloskey

1946 The Return of Silver Chief by Jack O'Brien (not owned by SPL)

1945 Snow Treasure by Marie McSwigan

1944 The Black Stallion by Walter Farley

1943 Lassie Come Home by Eric Knight

1942 By the Shores of Silver Lake by Laura Ingalls Wilder

1941 Mr.Popper's Penguins by Richard Atwater

1940 Paul Bunyan Swings His Axe by Dell J. McCormick (not owned by SPL)


City of Spokane


Spokane Public Library • 906 W. Main Spokane, WA 99201 • 509.444.5300


facebook logo

Web Design by: Zipline Interactive