Summer Reading @ the Library!



Sign up for Summer Reading @ your library! Keep track of your books, but take a break from reading every now and then to attend some cool programs (full schedule below). When you finish 15 books or 15 hours, you can pick out a book from our summer reading giveaway book supply (generously provided by the Friends of Spokane Public Library ). Be sure to turn in your reading log by Saturday, August 31 to receive your free book.


All programs are free and appropriate for school-aged children. For more information, call 444-5331.


Programs:

 

Archeologist for a Day!

Bagpipes @ the Library

Drums! - Spokane Taiko

Martial Arts at the Library

Mobius Science Fun

Find programs at your branch:

 

Downtown
East Side

Hillyard

Indian Trail

Shadle

South Hill


Archeologist for a Day!

Staff from the West Valley Outdoor Learning Center show you how to become an archaeologist, on a small scale, and uncover the story that archeology can tell you about history. This program includes an interactive slide show and time for hands-on exploration with archaeology and fossils. Come get your hands dirty with science. This program will be held at the following locations, dates, and times.


East Side: Tuesday, June 25, 3 p.m.

Indian Trail: Wednesday, June 26, 3 p.m.

Shadle: Tuesday, July 2, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

South Hill: Wednesday, July 3, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Downtown: Friday, July 5, 2 p.m.

West Central Community Center: Thursday, July 11, 10 a.m.

Hillyard: Thursday, July 11, 3 p.m.

TOP


Bagpipes @ the Library

Join pipers, drummers and dancers from the Angus Scott Pipe band for some rousing music and a bit of history about the pipes, drums and the musicians that play them. This program will be held at the following locations, dates, and times.


South Hill: Monday, July 8, 6 p.m.

Shadle: Tuesday, July 9, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Indian Trail: Wednesday, July 10, 3 p.m.

Downtown: Friday, July 12, 2 p.m. 

East Side: Tuesday, July 30, 3 p.m.

South Hill: Wednesday, July 31, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Hillyard: Thursday, August 1, 3 p.m.

 

TOP


Drums! - Spokane Taiko

Spokane Taiko brings the exciting art of Japanese drumming to libraries near you. A finely tuned kumi-daiko (Taiko drum ensemble) exercises the members' physical stamina, focus and cooperation and is a truly impressive sight and sound. This program will be held at the following locations, dates, and times.


East Side: Tuesday, July 23, 3 p.m.

South Hill: Monday, July 22, 6 p.m.

South Hill: Wednesday, July 24, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

West Central Community Center: Thursday, July 25, 10 a.m.

Hillyard: Thursday, July 25, 3 p.m 

Downtown: Friday, July 26, 2 p.m.

Shadle: Saturday, July 27, 2 p.m.

Shadle: Tuesday, July 30, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Indian Trail: Wednesday, July 31, 3 p.m.

TOP

 

Extreme Science with Radical Rick

Science is totally cool when presented by Radical Rick. Whether he's exploring forces, flames or finite temperatures he’s always got a smart trick up his sleeve.

East Side: Tuesday, July 16, 3:00 p.m.

South Hill: Wednesday, July 17, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Hillyard: Thursday, July 18, 3:00 p.m.

Downtown: Friday, July 19, 2 p.m.

Shadle: July 23, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Indian Trail: July 24, 3:00 p.m.

Shadle: Saturday, August 3, 2 p.m.

 TOP


Summer Reading SkunkMartial Arts @ the Library

Martial arts—those beautiful and effective forms of fighting and self-defense—have been with us for centuries.  Join martial arts group War Horse Karate to see them demonstrate some of these fascinating techniques. This program will be held at the following locations, dates, and times.

East Side: Tuesday, July 9, 3 p.m.

South Hill: Wednesday, July 10, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Shadle: Tuesday, July 16, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

Indian Trail: Wednesday, July 17, 3 p.m.

Downtown: Friday, August 2, 2 p.m.

TOP


Mobius Science Fun

Join us for a fast-paced, high-octane romp through the fascinating world of molecular interactions. Science is all around us and through a series of exciting demonstrations we will explore various principles of chemistry and the physical sciences. Don't try this at home! Come experience it with Mobius Science Center. This program will be held at the following locations, dates, and times.


South Hill: Wednesday, June 26, 2 p.m. & 3:30 p.m.

West Central Community Center: Tuesday, June 27, 10 a.m.

Hillyard: Thursday, June 27, 3 p.m.

Downtown: Friday, June 28, 2 p.m.

Shadle: Saturday, June 29, 2 p.m.

East Side: Tuesday, July 2, 3 p.m.

Indian Trail: Wednesday, July 3, 3 p.m.