Teens:  Michael L. Printz Award

First presented in 2000, the Michael L. Printz Award goes to the author of the book that best exemplifies literary excellence in young adult literature. It is named for a Topeka, Kansas school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. the division of the American Library Association that sponsors the award. The Printz Award Committee names the winner and may designate honor books as well.

2014 Winner

Midwinterblood, by Marcus Sedgwick

2014 Honor Books

Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell

The Kingdom of Little Wounds, by Susann Cokal

Maggot Moon, by Sally Gardner

Navigating Early, by Claire Vanderpool


2013 Winner

In Darkness, written by Nick Lake

2013 Honor Books

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein

Dodger, by Terry Pratchett

The White Bicycle, by Beverley Brenna


2012 Winner

Where Things Come Back, by John Corey Whaley

2012 Honor Books

Why We Broke Up, by Daniel Handler and Maira Kalman

The Returning, by Christine Hinwood

Jasper Jones, by Craig Silvey

The Scorpio Races, by Maggie Stiefvater

2011 Winner

 Shipbreaker, by Paolo Bacigalupi

2011 Honor Books

Stolen, by Lucy Christopher
Please Ignore Vera Dietz, by A.S. King
Revolver,by Marcus Sedgwick
Nothing, by Janne Teller

2010 Winner

Going Bovine by Libba Bray

2010 Honor Books

Charles and Emma: the Darwins' Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman (not owned by SPL)

 The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey

Punkzilla by Adam Rapp

Tales of the Madman Underground: (an Historical Romance, 1973)  by John Barnes

2009 Winner

Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

2009 Honor Books

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation, Volume II, The Kingdom on the Waves, by M.T. Anderson.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, by E. Lockhart.

Nation, by Terry Pratchett.

Tender Morsels, by Margo Lanagan.

2008 Winner

The White Darkness by Geraldine McCaughrean

2008 Honor Books

Dreamquake: Book Two of the Dreamhunter Duetby Elizabeth Knox

One Whole and Perfect Day by Judith Clarke

Repossessed by A.M. Jenkins

Your Own, Sylvia: A Verse Portrait of Sylvia Plath by Stephanie Hemphill

2007 Winner
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang

2007 Honor Books
The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor to the Nation; vol. 1: The Pox Party by M.T. Anderson
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Surrender by Sonya Hartnett
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

2006 Winner
Looking for Alaska by John Green
2006 Honor Books
Black Juice by Margo Lanagan
I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak
John Lennon: All I Want Is the Truth by Elizabeth Partidge
A Wreath for Emmett Till by Marilyn Nelson

2005 Winner
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

2005 Honor Books
Airborn by Kenneth Oppell
Chanda's Secrets by Allan Stratton (not owned by SPL)
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt

2004 Winner
First Part Last by Angela Johnson
2004 Honor Books
A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly
Keesha's House by Helen Frost
Fat Kid Rules the World by K.L. Going
The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things by Carolyn Mackler

2003 Winner
Postcards from No Man's Land by Aidan Chambers
2003 Honor Books
The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer
My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr (not owned by SPL)
Hole in My Life by Jack Gantos

2002 Winner
A Step From Heaven by An Na
2002 Honor Books
The Ropemaker by Peter Dickinson
Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century Art edited Jan Greenberg
Freewill by Chris Lynch
True Believer by Virginia Euwer Wolff

2001 Winner
Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond
2001 Honor Books
Many Stones by Carolyn Coman (not owned by SPL)
The Body of Christopher Creed by Carol Plum-Ucci
Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman

2000 Winner

Monster by Walter Dean Myers

2000 Honor Books

Skellig by David Almond

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger